Skip to main content

Bethel Libraries

Gender Studies: Finding Articles

A research guide for students interested in Gender Studies at Bethel University. Contains relevant databases, books, journals, and general resources to aid in the research process.

Finding Scholarly Articles

Database: An online system that allows you to search journals, newspapers, & other media organized by subject. 

Journal: A journal is a single publication very specific to certain topics--for example "The Journal of the History of Sexuality."  

Databases

Find scholarly articles by searching the following databases:

PsycINFO 

  • Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Published by the APA

ProQuest Social Sciences 

  • Searches several Proquest Social Science databases concurrently.​
Academic Search Premier 
  • Academic Search Premier is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full-text database designed specifically for academic institutions. This scholarly collection provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study--including the social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc.

JSTOR ​

  • JSTOR provides full-text articles from a wide variety of scholarly journals. Coverage ranges from the 1890s (in select journals) to four years prior to the current year. 

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 

  • Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, the project contains more than 1,600 documents, 600 images, and over 600 links to other websites.

Communication & Mass Media Complete 

  • Communication & Mass Media Complete, like Communication & Mass Media Index, provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.

Journal Finder

 

 

Here you will find a list of all of Bethel's journals related to Gender Studies. 

Here you will find a list of all of Bethel's journals related to Gay and Lesbian Studies

Can't find what you're looking for? Request the item via ILLiad.

Still not finding it?

Are you seeing this message?  Don't worry!  You're just a couple clicks away from the article you want. 

Request item through ILLiad

After going to ILLiad

1. Log in with your Bethel username and password (You'll have to create an account the first time). 

2. Submit the "Request an Article" form. 

3. That's it!  You'll get an email when your article is available.  It can sometimes take a couple days for delivery.