Skip to main content

Bethel Libraries

Bethel University Library Services to Alumni: Alumni Access to Research Resources

Can I still check out books from the Bethel University Library?

Alumni are welcome to register for a free Bethel University Library card. 
This card may be used to check out books from the Library's Main Collection.

BUL Logo

Can I access Bethel's databases after I graduate?

The license agreements of the online indexes/databases to which the Bethel Libraries subscribe only allow remote access to currently enrolled Bethel University students and current faculty/staff.

However, you are welcome to come back to campus and search in these resources from the Library's guest access computers, or from your laptop or mobile device using Bethel's guest wireless network.

Wireless Icon

Are there other ways of accessing online indexes/ databases?

Via ELM (Electronic Library for Minnesota), the State provides access to a number of online indexes/databases to anyone with a public library card. 

Examples of databases accessible via ELM:

  • Academic Search Premier
  • Business Source Premier
  • ERIC
  • Expanded Academic ASAP
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
  • Health Source
  • MasterFILE Premier
  • New York Times
  • ProQuest Global Newsstream
  • Regional Business News
  • St. Paul Pioneer Press
  • Star Tribune
  • USA Today
  • Wall Street Journal
  • Washington Post

ELM (Electronic Library for Minnesota)


Many public libraries subscribe to additional online resources that are worth checking out. 

For example, Hennepin County Library provides a number of databases and website suggestions on the topic of "Business and Employment".
Ramsey County Library has a similar list on "Business & Finance".

What other resources are available to me?

Via MnKnows (the portal to Minnesota's online library services), the State offers efficient ways of tracking down and requesting materials, and asking questions

MnKnows


Examples of free online resources:

  • Directory of Open Access Journals:  Full-text, quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals
  • eBooks Minnesota:  Content from Minnesota's independent publishers
  • ERIC:  More than 1.2 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials
  • Google Scholar:  A simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature, especially the sciences
  • JSTOR:  Provides free, read-online access to more than five million journal articles.  Must register for a free MyJSTOR account.

Can I still ask the Reference Librarians for assistance?

Yes!  We would be happy to assist you and to direct you to the most appropriate experts or resources to which you can have access.

Question Mark

Can I still make use of Bethel's interlibrary loan service?

Sorry, but you will need to use the interlibrary loan service of your local public library

Library Logo

Can I access my RefWorks account after I graduate?

RefWorks now offers lifelong access to users who are alumni from Bethel University.

Check out the
RefWorks Alumni Program